Are You Like Mary or Martha?

“While Jesus and his followers were traveling, Jesus went into a town.  A woman named Martha let Jesus stay at her house.  Martha had a sister named Mary, who was sitting at Jesus feet listening to him teach.  But Martha was busy with all the work to be done.  She went in and said, Lord don’t you care that my sister has left me alone to do all the work? Tell her to help me.  But the Lord answered her, Martha, Martha, you are worried and upset about many things.  Only one thing is important.  Mary has chosen the better thing, and it will never be taken away from her,” (Luke 10:38-42, NCV).  In our text we see Jesus giving Martha a firm rebuttal as she raises the concern that she has been the one doing all the work.  It seems as if Jesus is not understanding of Martha’s plight.  It is Martha’s home and she is the host of this gathering.  There are things to be done.  A meal has to be served.  It seems as if that Mary leaves all of the work to Martha, and the reality is that she does.  In his rebuttal to Mary Jesus states that there is but one important thing and Mary has chosen the better thing.  Mary has chosen something that can’t be taken away from her because it has become imprinted on her heart and in her mind.  Sitting at Jesus’ feet is life changing.  If I ask myself the question:  Am I more like Mary or Martha?  The answer would be Martha. I get so busy with the business of life that I forget the better thing.  Perhaps as we seek to live our lives we should realize that there are times that we must quit what we are doing in order to sit at Jesus’ feet.  I don’t think that Martha was wrong in wanting to get the meal served.  However, Martha’s failure was in the fact that she allowed her vision to become so clouded that she could not see what was truly important.  I am like Martha I become so focused on something that I can no longer see that which is most important.  My prayer is may I become like Mary and have the ability to relax and sit at the feet of Jesus when those times come along.

 

2 thoughts on “Are You Like Mary or Martha?

  1. I am such a Martha, and sometimes I find myself resenting the Marys. I guess the key is balancing both.

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

