Coming to Jesus.

Oswald Chambers reminds us that  its humiliating to come to Jesus.  According to Chambers the litmus test for determining, “how real we are” is our willingness to “come unto Jesus.”  He goes on to say that in every area in which we’re not real we will try to avoid the issue.  I think of the hymn written by Charlotte Elliot entitled, “Just as I Am, Without One Plea.”  Elliot writes, “Just as I am without one plea, but that thy blood was shed for me, and that thou bidst me come to thee, O Lamb of God, I come, I come.”   We must be willing to come to Jesus just as we are.  This means that we bring our sinfulness as well as our fears.  Coming to Jesus is not easy.  It requires  that we allow ourselves to be led by the Spirit of God.  I remember, the tremendous fear I had in trying to determine if I was to surrender my life to preach the Gospel.  I worried about all kinds of things.  The fear of financial insecurity as well as not being good enough.  However, “coming unto Jesus”  is not waiting for him to tell us to surrender to some great call, but it is surrendering our whole being unto him.  It is as we surrender all to Jesus that Jesus will call us to do things for him.  Surrender must come first.  One day I was talking to a man who informed me that he  was being called  to surrender his three children to the Lord .  He said that out of any decision that he had to make for God it was the most difficult .  It was not easy for this man to say to God, “my children are yours.  I give them all to you.”  It is a difficult thing to surrender unto God that which you love the most.  It was essential for this man to do this in order to truly come to God.  Are you willing to come to Jesus and surrender your whole being?  This is the question that we must answer.

Leave a Reply

